Monday, October 27, 2008
Diplomatic is the new macho!
I find the whole "men should be masculine" thing so interesting because it is so true - and I've never really thought of it before. Everywhere we look we see buff men fighting, and girls swooning over them. I'd also never thought of Disney men being ultra-macho, but they are! John Smith is the definition of a man, with his gun, fighting the Native Americans. Eric is dashing, sailing across the sea; Ariel falls for him based on looks alone. Going along with that, the women are always tiny, beautiful, helpless women that need to be swept off their feet. This is ultra offensive to us feminists out there - why do we have to be attracted to buff guys? Why can't we do anything on our own? Hell, why can't we be the ones sweeping the guys off their feet? I myself will admit that I much prefer my boyfriends to have a little muscle on them, and to not wear all of their emotions on their sleeves (not emotionless, but, hey, when a guy cries? Yeah...not attractive). But the fact that I think this way shows how I've been trained to do so. It's almost as if I can't decide who I'm attracted to, society's chosen for me. There's nothing wrong with saying that you're mad and talking it out instead of fighting. In fact, when a guy shows that much maturity, I'm more likely to swoon over them than Mr. Macho over there who's hyped up on throwing punches to solve his problems.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment