Monday, October 27, 2008

Diplomatic is the new macho!

I find the whole "men should be masculine" thing so interesting because it is so true - and I've never really thought of it before. Everywhere we look we see buff men fighting, and girls swooning over them. I'd also never thought of Disney men being ultra-macho, but they are! John Smith is the definition of a man, with his gun, fighting the Native Americans. Eric is dashing, sailing across the sea; Ariel falls for him based on looks alone. Going along with that, the women are always tiny, beautiful, helpless women that need to be swept off their feet. This is ultra offensive to us feminists out there - why do we have to be attracted to buff guys? Why can't we do anything on our own? Hell, why can't we be the ones sweeping the guys off their feet? I myself will admit that I much prefer my boyfriends to have a little muscle on them, and to not wear all of their emotions on their sleeves (not emotionless, but, hey, when a guy cries? Yeah...not attractive). But the fact that I think this way shows how I've been trained to do so. It's almost as if I can't decide who I'm attracted to, society's chosen for me. There's nothing wrong with saying that you're mad and talking it out instead of fighting. In fact, when a guy shows that much maturity, I'm more likely to swoon over them than Mr. Macho over there who's hyped up on throwing punches to solve his problems.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Not so independent after all.

Our past few discussions in class about nature and nurture have really taught me a lot. For instance, I had no idea that we needed other people that much - that humans have no natural language or instinct to communicate with eath other. If we were to be on our own from birth, we'd be very primitive and animalistic. I found this most interesting because so many people (especially young people) strive for independence. No one wants to be dependent on others or sheltered their whole lives when that is exactly what humans need when they're born. We need loving parents to coddle us and shower us with love and teach us how to interact with others and act in society. It's difficult to think of everyone being like large animals, but if we didn't interact with others or get nurtured as babies, that is exactly how we would be.

Monday, October 13, 2008

"Life moves pretty fast, if you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it."

I really enjoyed the movie, Tuesdays with Morrie. The things Morrie said and the advice he gave Mitch really made me think about my own life and the way I live. I think that in the movie, Mitch represents American culture and its fast-paced ways and how it can really make one's life fly by. Morrie was there to try and help Mitch slow down and appreciate every moment of life. This is something I already try to do when I think about it, probably due to my religious upbringing. However, it's not as easy as it sounds. I've grown up in this fast-paced world my entire life and am therefore programed to just go. Get up in the morning, go to school, get home, do homework, go to bed, and it starts all over again the next day. It's very easy to get caught up in. But Mitch's situation, with his girlfriend getting tired of waiting for him, is enough of a lesson for most to learn from because no one wants that to happen to them. Sometimes it's difficult enough for me to believe that my next birthday will be my 18th and that I've already applied to colleges and will be on my own in just a short year. Most of the time I still feel like a little child, who still needs her parents. The Ferris Bueller quote in my title is very true. I think that after listening to Morrie, I will try even harder to stop once in a while and just appreciate what a wonderful life I have and those in it instead of just zooming through it.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Come together...right now.

This past Thursday I went to the Allstate Arena to see Weezer and Angels & Airwaves play. It was such an incredible concert - totally worth the exhaustion I felt on Friday. But besides screaming out the lyrics as the bands sang them, I looked around at the crowd I saw. The variety of people at concerts is always interesting, but it was especially so at this one. I saw ages ranging from around eight years old up to about fifty - talk about surprise! Eight year olds out until midnight on a Thursday night?! Granted, they were mostly there because their parents were fans, but still. I doubt my parents would've done that with me ten years ago. There was also that group there (that are always there) that you'd honestly be afraid to talk to, they're so...eccentric. But there they are, and the parents with their kids, and me with my friends all doing the same thing. We're all standing up, jumping around, having the time of our lives to this music that brings us together. For that short period of time, we were all feeling the same awe that can only come from seeing our favorite bands live. It seems that people don't really question what you do when you're at a concert, being moved by the music coming from the stage. It's a nice feeling, and I really enjoy it. I think it's a great way to let loose and just go where the music takes you and to feel that connection with everyone else there.